Annual Awards

Brad Roberts Outstanding Industry Achievement by a Member Organization Award

2017 Winner:  

LG Chem accepted the Brad Roberts Award in Denver, CO during ESA 27th Annual Conference and Expo.

About the Award: This award was named to honor Brad Roberts' legacy as a leader of the ESA and a champion for the energy storage industry. In addition to serving as the Executive Director for ESA, Roberts amassed over 35 years of experience in the design and operation of critical power systems, ranging from single phase UPS systems to medium-voltage application, and he held senior management positions in two of the major UPS manufacturers. Mr. Roberts was a senior life member of IEEE and had published over 50 technical papers and journal articles on critical power system design and energy storage technology.

Previous Winners Include:  

2017: LG Chem
2016: Customized Energy Solutions

2015: Saft America, Inc.
2014: AES Energy Storage
2013: S&C Electric Company

Phil Symons Energy Storage Award

2017 Winner:
Carla Peterman
California Public Utilities Commission

About the Award: Dr. Philip Symons career in electrochemistry and bulk energy storage led him to become one of the founding members of the Energy Storage Association (formerly Electricity Storage Association) and Chairperson from 1997 through 2003.  Phil’s leadership and guidance were critical in setting the organization on a path for growth.  Unfortunately, Phil passed away in 2006, but his memory is still celebrated each year with the presentation of the Phil Symons Energy Storage Award to a deserving recipient for contributions to the advancement of electricity storage.

Previous winners include:

2017: Carla Peterman
2016: Audrey Zibelman
2015: Judith Judson
2014: Jon Wellinghoff
2013: Janice Lin
2012: Terry Boston
2011: Rick Winter
2010: John Boyes
2009: Imre Gyuk and Brad Roberts
2008: Jim McDowall
2007: William Hassenzahl
2006: Ali Nourai

If you have any questions about these awards, please contact Becca Dietrich at or by telephone at 202-293-0537.