CPUC Commissioner Carla Peterman and Energy Storage Leader LG Chem Honored at Industry’s Annual Conference and Expo in Denver

Recognizing Their Far-Reaching Impact on Acceleration of Energy Storage, Each Received the Highest Honor from the Industry for an Individual and a Company
Washington, D.C. (April 25, 2017) – During the Energy Storage Association’s 27th Annual Conference and Expo - held in Denver, CO April 18-20 – California Public Utilities Commissioner Carla Peterman and global manufacturer LG Chem were honored by the industry for their contributions and leadership in advancing the energy storage industry. 
Each year, ESA surveys its members and past award recipients to identify the individual who has had the biggest impact in shaping the future of the industry to receive the Phil Symons Energy Storage Award. This year, the industry chose to honor CPUC Commissioner Peterman for her continued leadership in pushing California forward and engaging stakeholders from across energy in the advancement of the storage industry in the state. 
Peterman was influential in setting aggressive energy storage procurement targets in the state in 2013 and working with utilities and storage companies to create a viable path forward for advancing the industry. In 2016, Peterman was also a part of shaping the CPUC’s response to the environmental disaster at the Aliso Canyon natural gas facility – calling for the rapid deployment of energy storage systems to address predicted supply shortages. This was both a significant opportunity and challenge for the energy storage industry, and Commissioner Peterman was instrumental ensuring the success of this emergency response.
“I want to extend my deepest thank you for honoring me and everyone here at the Commission with the Phil Symons Award,” said Commissioner Peterman during her acceptance speech. “We would not be here without the efforts of the Energy Storage Association, and I am proud to be a part of California’s efforts.”
The ESA also recognized the significant contributions of LG Chem during the awards ceremony, presenting their company with the Brad Roberts Outstanding Industry Achievement by a Member Organization Award. LG Chem leads the industry by example, working closely with nearly every major developer, and has brought the highest standards to the manufacturing of energy storage systems. Their company truly is a driving force in advancing the energy storage industry as a whole, and their ever-expanding portfolio of successful projects is a testament to their commitment to advancing a robust industry.
“It is an honor to be recognized by our peers, and to follow in the footsteps of many prestigious companies in helping to grow the industry,” said Peter Gibson, head of US business for LG Chem Energy. “With systems deployed in more than 20 US states and throughout the globe – and advanced manufacturing located in Michigan - we now employee more than 600 people in the US alone. This award is recognition of those people, and it recognizes our amazing partners, customers, and industry. Thank you, from the global LG Chem company.”
More information about the ESA’s Annual Awards and past winners is also available on our website at www.energystorage.org 
# # #

About Energy Storage Association

The Energy Storage Association (ESA) is the trade association for the energy storage industry and the leading voice for companies that develop and deploy the energy storage technologies we rely on every day. ESA's mission is to promote, develop and commercialize competitive and reliable energy storage systems for use by electricity suppliers and their customers. With more than 180 member organizations, ESA members represent a diverse group of entities, including electric utilities, energy service companies, independent power producers, technology developers deploying advanced batteries, flywheels, compressed air energy storage, thermal storage, pumped hydropower, supercapacitors, and component suppliers, such as power conversion systems.
More information is available at: www.energystorage.org