ESA Welcomes New Members and Officers to its Board of Directors

Washington, D.C. (May 15, 2017) – The Energy Storage Association (ESA), the national trade association for the U.S. energy storage industry, announced today the results of its Board elections. Each year, ESA holds open elections among its members, and the resulting Board of Directors also holds elections to select executive committee officers.
“We are excited that so many ESA members participated in this year’s elections,” said Matt Roberts, ESA’s Executive Director. “The elections themselves were very close, and our members have chosen an excellent slate of Directors which will fuel continued growth for the organization and the US energy storage industry.”

The 2017-2018 ballot included ten candidates for six open board positions and voting concluded at the Meeting of the Members during the ESA’s 27th Annual Conference and Expo in Denver, CO. Directors that were re-elected or elected for the first time include:

  • Jeff Gates, Alevo
  • William Holmes, K&L Gates
  • Karen Butterfield, Stem, Inc
  • Dr. Audrey Lee, Advanced Microgrid Solutions
  • Dr. Peter Muhoro, Pedernales Electric Cooperative
  • Jacqueline DeRosa, Customized Energy Solutions
In addition, the new Board gathered on May 10th to elect Board Officers for the 2017-2018 cycle. Elected to the role of Vice Chair in 2016, Praveen Kathpal of AES Energy Storage ascended to become Board Chair, and former Chair Troy Miller of S&C Electric became Immediate Past Chair. Each officer elected will serve a one-year term. 
The full roster of ESA’s Executive Committee and Officers includes:
  • Immediate Past Chair: Troy Miller, S&C Electric
  • Board Chair: Praveen Kathpal, AES Energy Storage
  • Vice Chair: Dr. Craig Horne, RES Group
  • Treasurer: Karen Butterfield, Stem
  • Secretary: Dr. Audrey Lee, Advanced Microgrid Solutions
“The meteoric rise of the energy storage industry is playing a leading role in transforming our nation’s power sector and creating a more flexible, resilient, and affordable grid,” Roberts said. “ESA’s Board of Directors has been instrumental in shaping this growth, and we welcome their expertise and strategic guidance as industry leaders.”
ESA’s Board also went on to thank an outgoing Director who had served two terms with the organization, Ben Kaun of the Electric Power Research Institute. Mr. Kaun’s leadership and dedication to the industry has been pivotal as ESA has continued to evolve and grow.
The full list of members of ESA’s Board of Directors can be seen at:
# # # 
About Energy Storage Association
The Energy Storage Association (ESA) is the trade association for the energy storage industry and the leading voice for companies that develop and deploy the energy storage technologies we rely on every day. ESA's mission is to promote, develop and commercialize competitive and reliable energy storage systems for use by electricity suppliers and their customers. With more than 180 member organizations, ESA members represent a diverse group of entities, including electric utilities, energy service companies, independent power producers, technology developers deploying advanced batteries, flywheels, compressed air energy storage, thermal storage, pumped hydropower, supercapacitors, and component suppliers, such as power conversion systems.
More information is available at: