PLEASE NOTE: ESA is now part of the American Clean Power Association (ACP). This website material is not regularly updated and is for archival and reference purposes only. Please visit for more information.

April 19, 2019

2019 ESA Award Winners

Congratulations to Invenergy, the 2019 recipients of the Brad Roberts Award.

The Brad Roberts Award highlights the extraordinary accomplishments of a member company or organization in the storage market, recognizing their comprehensive industry commitment and participation. 

This award was named to honor the legacy of Brad Roberts who passed away in 2013. He was as a champion for the energy storage industry and former leader of ESA. In addition to serving as the Executive Director for ESA, Roberts amassed over 35 years of experience in the design and operation of critical power systems, ranging from single phase UPS systems to medium-voltage applications, holding senior management positions  with two of the major UPS manufacturers. Mr. Roberts was a Senior Life member of IEEE and was published in over 50 technical papers and journal articles on critical power system design and energy storage technology.

Previous Winners Include:  

2018: RES (Renewable Energy Systems)
2017: LG Chem
2016: Customized Energy Solutions
2015: Saft America, Inc.
2014: AES Energy Storage
2013: S&C Electric Company

Watch the ESA Interview with Invenergy’s Kris Zadlo

Phil Symons Energy Storage Award

2019 Winner: Senator Martin Heinrich

About the Award: Dr. Philip Symons career in electrochemistry and bulk energy storage led him to become one of the founding members of the Energy Storage Association (formerly Electricity Storage Association) and Chairperson from 1997 through 2003.  Phil’s leadership and guidance were critical in setting the organization on a path for growth.  Unfortunately, Phil passed away in 2006, but his memory is still celebrated each year with the presentation of the Phil Symons Energy Storage Award to a deserving recipient for contributions to the advancement of electricity storage.

Previous winners include:

2018: Lon Huber
2017: Carla Peterman
2016: Audrey Zibelman
2015: Judith Judson
2014: Jon Wellinghoff
2013: Janice Lin
2012: Terry Boston
2011: Rick Winter
2010: John Boyes
2009: Imre Gyuk and Brad Roberts
2008: Jim McDowall
2007: William Hassenzahl
2006: Ali Nourai

If you have any questions about these awards, please contact Becca Dietrich at or by telephone at 202-293-0537.

Back to The ESA Blog

Become a Member

Join ESA - the National Network of Energy Storage Stakeholders

Learn More About Membership