PLEASE NOTE: ESA is now part of the American Clean Power Association (ACP). This website material is not regularly updated and is for archival and reference purposes only. Please visit for more information.

August 20, 2020

2020 ESA Award Winners

Congratulations to K&L Gates, the 2020 winner of the Brad Roberts Award

The Brad Roberts Award highlights the extraordinary accomplishments of a member company or organization in the storage market, recognizing their comprehensive industry commitment and participation. 

This award was named to honor the legacy of Brad Roberts who passed away in 2013. He was as a champion for the energy storage industry and former leader of ESA. In addition to serving as the Executive Director for ESA, Roberts amassed over 35 years of experience in the design and operation of critical power systems, ranging from single phase UPS systems to medium-voltage applications, holding senior management positions  with two of the major UPS manufacturers. Mr. Roberts was a Senior Life member of IEEE and was published in over 50 technical papers and journal articles on critical power system design and energy storage technology.

Previous Winners Include:  

2019: Invenergy
2018: RES (Renewable Energy Systems)
2017: LG Chem
2016: Customized Energy Solutions
2015: Saft America, Inc.
2014: AES Energy Storage
2013: S&C Electric Company

Watch the interview with Bill Holmes of K&L Gates here.

Phil Symons Energy Storage Award

The Phil Symons award is decided by recommendation of ESA’s Board of Directors. Dr. Philip Symons career in electrochemistry and bulk energy storage led him to become one of the founding members of the Energy Storage Association (formerly Electricity Storage Association) and Chairperson from 1997 through 2003.  Phil’s leadership and guidance were critical in setting the organization on a path for growth.  Unfortunately, Phil passed away in 2006, but his memory is still celebrated each year with the presentation of the Phil Symons Energy Storage Award to a deserving recipient for contributions to the advancement of electricity storage. Click here to view all the past winners.

Watch the interview with Alicia Barton, CEO of FirstLight Power here.

Previous winners include:

2019: Sen. Martin Heinrich
2018: Lon Huber
2017: Carla Peterman
2016: Audrey Zibelman
2015: Judith Judson
2014: Jon Wellinghoff
2013: Janice Lin
2012: Terry Boston
2011: Rick Winter
2010: John Boyes
2009: Imre Gyuk and Brad Roberts
2008: Jim McDowall
2007: William Hassenzahl
2006: Ali Nourai

Diversity and Inclusion Award

This newly created award honors and recognizes professionals who have achieved excellence in energy storage, and have nurtured and encouraged diversity and inclusion to pave the way for the success of other women, people of color, and/or LGBTQ professionals in the industry. 

Watch the interview with 2020 Diversity & Inclusion Award Winner Peter Muhoro, Vice President of Strategy & Technology at Rappahannock Electric Cooperative

Breakthrough Woman of the Year Award

This newly created award recognizes an individual woman with less than ten years of industry experience who has made a significant individual contribution to the industry over the past year. 

Watch the interview with 2020 Breakthrough Woman of the Year Award Winner: Linh Tran, Director of Sales – Residential at LG Chem.

If you have any questions about these awards of the nomination process, please contact Becca Dietrich at or 202-293-0537.

Back to The ESA Blog

Become a Member

Join ESA - the National Network of Energy Storage Stakeholders

Learn More About Membership