April 10, 2019

Energy Storage Association Welcomes Keynote Speakers for the 2019 Annual Conference & Expo

PHOENIX, Ariz., April 10, 2019 – From NantEnergy to Arizona Public Service to NEC Energy Solutions, the Energy Storage Association (ESA), the leading national voice for the storage industry, is excited to welcome a host of distinguished keynote speakers for their Annual Conference & Expo on April 16 – 18 at the Phoenix Convention Center.

2019 is poised to be a landmark year for the U.S. energy storage market as state and federal policymakers consider initiatives that include storage in the shift toward a more resilient, efficient, sustainable and affordable electricity grid. This year’s industry annual conference will feature commentary on the latest storage developments and will highlight what industry leaders need to know for the upcoming year. Keynotes will focus on the continued expansion of the energy storage landscape, the inclusion of a diverse set of resources, and the integration of energy storage in a modern, more flexible grid.

As part of that discussion, the conference features the following keynote speakers: 

  • Dr. Tony Byers, Starbucks, former director of Global Diversity and Inclusion
  • Steve Fludder, NEC Energy Solutions, CEO
  • Jeffrey B. Guldner, Arizona Public Service, president
  • Susan Kennedy, Advanced Microgrid Solutions, founder and CEO
  • Sarah Orban Salati, New York Power Authority, CCO
  • Dr. Patrick Soon-Shiong, NantEnergy and the LA Times, chairman and owner
  • Cathy Zoi, EVgo, CEO

“The energy storage industry made tremendous progress last year, as evidenced by recent reports documenting the tens of thousands of U.S. jobs supported by our industry as well as the rapid increase in U.S. energy storage deployments in 2018. The growing importance of energy storage as the hub of a clean energy ecosystem is reflected in the amazing accomplishments of our speakers,” said ESA CEO Kelly Speakes-Backman. “We look forward to hearing from our keynotes about the ways in which the energy storage industry can continue to expand, particularly by bolstering its inclusivity and integration of diverse viewpoints and resources.”

The Wednesday morning keynote session will also feature a panel in which ESA CEO Kelly Speakes-Backman will engage the CEOs and Presidents of other national trade associations to discuss the ways in which energy storage resources can partner with the technologies advanced by their associations. 

The panel will feature remarks from:

  • Abigail Ross Hopper, Solar Energy Industries Association (SEIA), president & CEO
  • Eileen Wenger Tutt, California Electric Transportation Coalition, executive director
  • Tom Kiernan, American Wind Energy Association (AWEA), CEO
  • Tom Kuhn, Edison Electric Institute (EEI), president

Click here to see the full conference agenda and speaker biographies.

About Energy Storage Association

The Energy Storage Association (ESA) is the national trade association dedicated to energy storage, working toward a more resilient, efficient, sustainable and affordable electricity grid – as is uniquely enabled by energy storage. With more than 170 members, ESA represents a diverse group of companies, including independent power producers, electric utilities, energy service companies, financiers, insurers, law firms, installers, manufacturers, component suppliers and integrators involved in deploying energy storage systems around the globe. More information is available at: www.energystorage.org.

Back to Press Releases

Become a Member

Join ESA - the National Network of Energy Storage Stakeholders

Learn More About Membership