PLEASE NOTE: ESA is now part of the American Clean Power Association (ACP). This website material is not regularly updated and is for archival and reference purposes only. Please visit for more information.

Congratulations to our 2021 ESA Award Winners!

Brad Roberts Outstanding Industry Achievement by a Member Organization Award:

Ameresco, Inc.

Energy Storage Response Group (ESRG)

Phil Symons Energy Storage Award: 

  • Mike Berlinski, Customized Energy Solutions
  • Andrew Kaplan, Pierce Atwood LLP

Diversity and Inclusion Award: 

  • Imran Noorani, Peak Power

Breakout Woman of the Year Award:

  • Sharon Bonesteel, AIA, CBO, CP, Salt River Project
  • Christina Iwaniw, New York Power Authority (NYPA)
  • Allyson Sand, Plus Power

Read about our 2020 ESA Award Winners here | Click here to view all the past winners.

Brad Roberts Outstanding Industry Achievement by a Member Organization Award

Outstanding Industry Achievement by a Member Organization Award recognizes the accomplishments of a member company in the storage marketplace and its comprehensive industry commitment and participation. 

Phil Symons Energy Storage Award

The Phil Symons Energy Storage award is named after Dr. Philip Symons whose career in electrochemistry and bulk energy storage led him to become one of the founding members of the Energy Storage Association (formerly Electricity Storage Association) and Chairperson from 1997 through 2003.  Phil’s leadership and guidance were critical in setting the organization on a path for growth.  Unfortunately, Phil passed away in 2006, but his memory is still celebrated each year with the presentation of the Phil Symons Energy Storage Award to a deserving recipient for contributions to the advancement of energy storage. 

Diversity and Inclusion Award

This award honors and recognizes professionals who have achieved excellence in energy storage and have nurtured and encouraged diversity and inclusion to pave the way for the success of other women, people of color, and/or LGBTQ professionals in the industry. 

Breakout Woman of the Year Award  

This award recognizes an individual woman with less than ten years of industry experience who has made a significant individual contribution to the industry over the past year.   

If you have any questions about these awards of the nomination process, please contact Becca Dietrich at or 202-293-0537.

Become a Member

Join ESA - the National Network of Energy Storage Stakeholders

Learn More About Membership