PLEASE NOTE: ESA is now part of the American Clean Power Association (ACP). This website material is not regularly updated and is for archival and reference purposes only. Please visit for more information.

May 17, 2021

U.S. Energy Storage Association Elects 2021-2022 Board and Officers

WASHINGTON, D.C., May 17, 2021 –The U.S. Energy Storage Association (ESA), the national trade association for companies for the American energy storage industry, announced today its 2021-2022 Board of Directors and officers.

“The energy storage industry is moving past an inflection point to much higher growth, and we are guided by some of the best in the business through our Board of Directors,” said ESA Interim CEO Jason Burwen. “Our Board represents diverse segments of our industry membership, and I am eager to work together on our broadly shared priorities in accelerating the storage market toward our vision of 100 GW of new energy storage by 2030 and educating stakeholders on the benefits of storage in creating a more reliable, efficient, sustainable, and affordable electric grid.”

“I’m privileged to serve as Chair of ESA’s Board of Directors at an exciting time for the industry,” said Kiran Kumaraswamy, Vice President of Market Applications at Fluence and ESA Board Chair. “Energy storage is at the tipping point based on market demand and decarbonization goals. We’re expecting to see exponential growth in the coming decade for this billion-dollar industry. I’m looking forward to continuing to work with the stellar team at ESA to advance policies that support the entire energy storage industry and our country’s long-term economic and environmental success.”

The newly elected Board of Directors Officers are:

  • Chair: Kiran Kumaraswamy | Vice President of Market Applications, Fluence
  • Vice Chair: Jacquie DeRosa | Vice President, Battery Energy Storage, Ameresco
  • Secretary: Polly Shaw | Head of Policy & Communications, Plus Power, LLC
  • Treasurer: Jeff Bishop | Co-Founder and Chief Executive Officer, Key Capture Energy

The newly elected are:

  • Jeff Bishop, Co-Founder and Chief Executive Officer, Key Capture Energy (re-elected)
  • Jacquie DeRosa, Vice President, Battery Energy Storage, Ameresco (re-elected)
  • Paul Hayes, General Manager, American Fire Technologies (AFT)
  • Ben Lowe, Senior Project Manager, Roland Berger (re-elected)
  • Troy Miller, Sales Leader, Energy Storage, North America, GE Renewable Energy (re-elected)
  • Sarah Salati, Executive Vice President and Chief Commercial Officer, New York Power Authority (NYPA)
  • Polly Shaw, Head of Policy and Communications, Plus Power, LLC (re-elected)

Directors whose ESA terms are ongoing:

  • Javier Cavada, CEO & President, Highview Power
  • John D. Hewa, President & CEO, Rappahannock Electric Cooperative
  • Kelli Joseph, Senior Advisor, Power Edison
  • Kiran Kumaraswamy, Vice President of Market Applications, Fluence
  • Jonathan Landy, Director, Renewable Business Development, Duke Energy
  • Roger Lin, Vice President, Technical Marketing & Strategy
  • Joel Newton, Senior FERC Counsel, NextEra Energy, Inc.
  • Christopher Tilley, CEO and President, ENGIE Storage

More information on ESA’s Board of Directors is available at:


About The U.S. Energy Storage Association:

The U.S. Energy Storage Association (ESA) is the national trade association dedicated to energy storage, working toward a more resilient, efficient, sustainable and affordable electricity grid – as is uniquely enabled by energy storage. With more than 200 members, ESA represents a diverse group of companies, including independent power producers, electric utilities, energy service companies, financiers, insurers, law firms, installers, manufacturers, component suppliers and integrators involved in deploying energy storage systems around the globe. More information is available at:

Back to Press Releases

Become a Member

Join ESA - the National Network of Energy Storage Stakeholders

Learn More About Membership